The Piles

We have two dogs. Our oldest dog, Chalupa the Chihuahua, is 14 years old. I think he’s getting senile in his old age and there are days I get extremely frustrated with him for one simple reason: he leaves “piles” in the house. When he gets up in the morning, I let him out immediately and he takes care of his business and I am very pleased. However, within five minutes of letting him back into the house he will find a spot and deposit a nice little present for me. Unfortunately, I am not amused and will scold him. I get so, so aggravated with this daily routine. But, its only been occurring frequently within the past year and I know its because he’s old but its still a huge annoyance.

This morning, I let him out with our other dog, Maizey, and he went and I thought maybe I’ll catch a break this morning. I let him back in while I stayed outside in the sunshine with Maizey for a few minutes. Well, I went back inside and discovered not one but three piles!! I was livid and yelling as I cleaned them up and scrubbed the carpet. “Why, God??” I grumbled extremely loudly. “Why do I have to clean up this poop every day??”

Poor Chalupa cowered his head in shame as he watched me clean up his mess. I felt bad and exasperated at the same time.

This event coincided with my morning devotions and I sat down ready to learn something profound. I confessed my short temper and bad attitude and that is when God showed me the meaning of “the piles”. I have a few bad habits I’m trying to break and I have great intentions and pray for God’s help in beating them. I will go for awhile doing good but then I turn around and leave “a pile”–I return to the same bad habit again. Not once or twice but over and over.

God was showing me my lack of self-control was as obnoxious as those piles on my carpet. How many times can I pray and ask for God’s help but still give in to my weakness? God expects more of me.

What piles are you leaving on the carpet of your life? Do you ask for God’s help in learning self-control? God doesn’t shame us when we fail but expects us to work toward the goal of becoming the people he wants us to be. 1 Corinthians 12:9 tells us God’s grace is sufficient in our times of weakness. His strength can carry us if we truly trust him. Instead of leaving piles, let’s be victorious over those habits which weaken us.

Leave a Reply

