The Lost Generation

Judges 2:10 “After that whole generation had been gathered to their ancestors another generation grew up who knew neither the Lord nor what he had done for Israel.”

What are we doing to teach our children about the Lord God and what he has done in our lives? I must make a confession. Like many of my generation, I elected to let my children make their own decision when it came to matters of God in their lives. I have heard several times, “I don’t believe God really exists.” What a heartbreak it has been. My relationship with God is central in my life–I believe He is the creator and He exists and He works daily in my life. I believe He holds the universe in place and controls the events in this world. I believe because of sin, and Satan’s work in this world, this generation has lost sight of the reality of God and what He has done. There is an all-out onslaught against Christianity and our young people don’t have the knowledge or spiritual fortitude to withstand it.

If you are a true believer, a relationship with God is vital and you should desire more than anything for your children and grandchildren to know Him, to trust Him and to follow Him. These days in history are dire and urgent and we must choose who we are going to serve. Joshua 24:15 tells us we can’t just sit idle and not make a choice. If we don’t serve God, we are going to follow someone or something else to our detriment. “But if serving the Lord seems undesirable to you, then choose for yourselves this day whom you will serve, whether the Gods your ancestors served beyond the Euphrates, or the gods of the Amorites, in whose land you are living. But as for me and my household, we will serve the Lord.”

A relationship with God is not a temporal thing; it has eternal ramifications. How can we let our loved ones revel in this world, unheeding of God, and not feel compelled to draw them close to him? We need to teach our children the immutable truth of God–who He is and why He loves us–so they can face the battles of life armed with His strength. Look at the dedication of Muslim families around the world to teach their children about their God. We need to be as fanatic in teaching our children about the One True God.

I have seen miracles, God exists, and I believe He will establish His kingdom on earth. I do not want to be guilty of contributing to a lost generation. God help us to teach others so they will not be lost but will stand for you.

Leave a Reply

