The Check

God is the God of hope. When we trust him and rely on him to take care of our needs he often goes above and beyond our expectations in the most unusual ways. I’d like to share a story which might give you hope today.

This past year has been a difficult one for me financially. Having Crohn’s disease has prevented me from having a full-time job and I have been diligently working from home doing a few different odd jobs which provided enough for me to pay bills. As Christmas time approached, I started to become despondent. I have four beautiful grandchildren I love to spoil during the holidays and I knew I would be unable to give them anything this year because I simply didn’t have the money.

Now, as a Christian I know Christmas is not about giving gifts. It is a celebration of God’s gift to us, Jesus Christ, who was born so he could redeem us. But, as a grandma I love to show my devotion to my grandchildren by giving them something nice during the holiday. My heart was heavy and at one point I cried. I literally cried. “God, I just want to give my grandbabies something for Christmas.”

I know it might seem trivial but it was important to me. 1 Peter 5:7 tells us, “Cast all your cares on him for he cares for you.” God hears our prayers no matter how insignificant we might think our prayer request is. God cares for us and for what we deem important.

Today, my devotional reiterated “hope” and how hope is not wishful thinking but it is trusting God in all things. I went about my daily routine and ran some errands. When I got home, I checked the mailbox which was full of envelopes. As I sifted through the letters, I saw one from my old homeowner’s insurance company. I couldn’t imagine why they were sending me a letter since they had cancelled my insurance after a flood claim. I almost set the letter aside but decided to open it.

Inside was a check for $500. It seems they had not given me enough for the flood claim and after an audit found the mistake and sent me the check. I was immediately humbled and started to cry. God had heard my prayer, he knew the longing of my heart and he answered in a way I would only recognize his hand in it. It was no coincidence or lucky happening. This was God caring about my cares and saying, “I hear you.”

No matter your circumstances today, God is listening and if we trust him we will receive an answer to our deepest prayers. “Cast your cares on him because he cares for you.”

Leave a Reply

